Brisbane trainer Kelly Schweida will give classy colt Better Than Ready (More Than Ready – Sally’s World, by Agnes World) another shot at Group 1 company after his win in Saturday’s Listed Mick Dittman Plate (1000m) at Eagle Farm.

Better Than Ready ran a reasonable fifth to the UK-bound Shamexpress (O’Reilly – Volkrose, by Volksraad) in the Newmarket Handicap at Flemington at his other attempt at the top level but Schweida said he was keen to give the three-year-old a crack at Group 1 races in his home town during the winter carnival.

“He’ll run next in BTC Cup but the Stradbroke and Doomben 10,000 are his goals,” Schweida said.

 ”I’m not sure how he’ll handle weight-for-age but they could be a little sharp for him in the BTC Cup.”

Better Than Ready showed his class with his third stakes victory in the Mick Dittman Plate. A strong early speed left Better Than Ready midfield before jockey Ric McMahon began to coax him forward from the 500 metres.

Better Than Ready still had some work to do to make up six lengths on the front-runners early in the straight but he quickly knuckled down to his task once McMahon asked him for an effort with 300 metres to run.

Better Than Ready ran a slick last furlong to get home over the top of Rocky King (Easy Rocking – Jazz Heaven, by Celestial Bounty) to score by 1-1/4 lengths.

Schweida admitted to some concerns as the field turned for home but Better Than Ready’s impressive acceleration quickly eased his worries.

“I was a little worried but Ric said he never was,” Schweida said.  “It wasn’t a brilliant win and he looked to be out of his comfort zone. 

 ”I was pleased with the last bit of his race. It was really strong.”

Better Than Ready’s Mick Dittman Plate victory was his sixth from 10 starts while the $64,000 winner’s cheque took his prizemoney tally to $328,000, more than twice the $140,000 Schweida paid for him at the 2011 Inglis Australian Easter Yearling Sale.

Congratulations to Better Than Ready's owners – Sandra Duselis, Craig Frampton, Goldstar Thoroughbreds (Mgr: Dan Hayes), Jeff Maclean, Ross Maclean Racing Syndicate Mgr: Shaun Flanigan, Alan Salpietro, Mark Tobin, Bernard Tobin, David Tynan, Robert Zuttion.

© MiStable 2013

Pin It on Pinterest